St. Thomas is proud to celebrate the latest champion scholars earning membership in its prestigious chapter of the National Honor Society.

Commemorating its centennial anniversary, the NHS is recognized as the nation’s premier organization rewarding high school students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, service, leadership, and character – the four pillars of the NHS since its beginnings.

The St. Thomas inductees maintain a superior academic performance while engaging in rigorous college preparatory and Advanced Placement courses. Members are expected to maintain their acclaimed standing and mentor underclassmen while selflessly making a difference in the world, no matter where they are.

“The St. Thomas campus community salutes these scholars for their resolute efforts toward highest achievement,” says Principal Dr. Aaron Dominguez ‘96. “They model the power of resilient work and embody the Basilian values of goodness, discipline, and knowledge. As they continue their academic experience and spiritual journeys, I encourage them to embrace the joy of inspiring others to realize their dreams.”

The St. Thomas NHS officers for the 2020-21 academic year are president Patrick Pham ‘21, vice president Brady Bourgoyne ‘21, secretary Evan Benavides ‘21, treasurer Zachary Bryant ‘21, and parliamentarian Hayden Diamond ‘21.

The 51 newly inducted NHS members include:

Joe Anton ‘22 and Grant Arnold ‘22

Nate Babineaux ‘22, Patrick Bates ‘22, Robert Beaujean ‘21, Carrick Brogan ‘22, John Brooks ‘22, and Henry Brown ‘22

Bruno Castilla ‘22, Mark Cheek ‘22, Landon Croker ‘22, and Andrew Cromwell ‘22

Travis Ealy ‘21 and Luke Evans ‘22

James Gibson ‘21 and Wyatt Green ‘22

Octavio Hinojosa ‘22 and Lawson Huff ‘22

Grady Jones ‘22

Nickolas Kanakidis ‘22 and Brett Koehn ‘22

Dylan Lightfoot ‘22, Colin Little ‘22, Robert Longo ‘22, and Nico Lopez ‘22

Joe Rick Madden ‘22, Sam Mahlberg ‘22, Thanh-Vinh McColloster ‘22, Cameron McCurry ‘21, Leonardo Morales ‘21, and Cooper Murray ‘22

Carson Ondo ‘22 and Alex Ostrom ‘22

Eli Phillips ‘22, Maddox Prejean-VanMeurs ‘22, Cameron Price ‘22, and Nicholas Prioli ‘21

Charlie Ramirez ‘22, Matias Ramirez de Alva ‘21, Diego Ramos ‘22, and Joseph Romero ‘22

Dylan Sandrock ‘22, Mark Scott ‘22, and Edward Seymour ‘22

Sami Taghlabi ‘22 and David Torres ‘22

Ruben Vara ‘22

Peyton Woodlief ‘22 and Andrew Wusterhausen ‘22

Alex Yankowsky ‘22

Peter Zhong ‘22

These commended students join 53 fellow Eagles from the Class of 2021 who had previously demonstrated the ability to excel, serve, lead, and succeed with a genuine quest for challenge and accomplishment.

Evan Benavides, Michael Bevers, Cael Boeckman, Gus Boettcher, Brady Bourgoyne, and Zachary Bryant

Maximillian Chung, Arthur Clarke, Jackson Cooper, and Travis Cummins

Adam Desroches and Hayden Diamond

Tanner Erb

Adam Gensheimer, Griffin Gregory, and Christopher Guzman

Jacob Hulvey

Carlos Kaehler, Aidan Kelley, and Alexander Kinsel

Sebastian Lanz, Vincent Lee, and Francisco LLamosa

Raphael Mamaradlo, Luke McLane, Dylan Michaels, Noah Mims, Luiangelo Montes, Benito Moreno-Garza, and Thomas Murray

Dat Nguyen

Roman Ochoa

Jhosua Pasuquin and Patrick Pham

George Rentz, Michael Requenes, Luis Reyes, Micah Reyes, Will Rizzo, and Christian Rumohr

Aaron Schlosser and Andrew Sudkamp

Pablo Tager Ballesca, Chris Tan, Drew Tolson, and Marshall Turbes

Thomas Valdes and Zachary Voltz

Haotong Wang, Creighton Ward, Jonah Webster, and Zachary Wilson

Bishop Yokubaitis

Involvement in the NHS is both prestigious and an exclusive responsibility, with students expected to continue to reflect the society’s high standards, as well as serve the school and their fellow students as academic leaders, ambassadors, and tutors.

Science faculty member Dr. Claire Conboy is in her second year as chapter advisor and played a pivotal role in determining the deep St. Thomas NHS participation.

“This is significant prestige that demonstrates the depth of the academic achievement thriving within St. Thomas,” Dr. Conboy says. “We are about developing and nurturing our students to reach their potential not only through curriculum but as vibrant contributors to society. And this honor provides a guiding light for all our young men of what is attainable and what should be pursued.”

The NHS estimates that more than one million students participate in its activities in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and many other U.S. territories with more than $15 million in scholarships awarded since 1946. Two million dollars will be gifted in 2021.


Catholic. Basilian. Teaching Goodness, Discipline and Knowledge since 1900.