John Miggins ’17 has been awarded a prestigious scholarship by the Greater Houston Chapter Alumni Association of Phi Beta Kappa.

Miggins was one of the three Eagle scholars nominated for awards of up to $4,000, and will be among more than 65 prestigious graduating students honored at the 43rd Annual Scholarships Award Dinner Wednesday, April 19, at 6:30 p.m. at the Omni Houston Hotel.  Earlier in the academic year, he earned National Merit Finalist distinction with Scott Pickering ’17 and Adam Lawrence ’17.

Previously, 2016 St. Thomas Salutatorian Seth Dalton and 2014 Valedictorian Blair Thoman were recognized by the Houston Chapter, along with Dempsey Prappas ‘13, Trey Bagley ‘12, Matthew Bedell ‘11, Alexander Rusciano ‘10, Scott Nauert ‘09, Kyle Rusciano ‘08 and Jonathan Babin ‘07.

The Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of Greater Houston is a not-for-profit organization of more than 400 members, affiliated with but not receiving funding from the national organization. Local programs such as the annual scholarship program are funded entirely from dues and contributions.

In 1972, Willoughby Williams, a respected Houston businessman, invited Phi Beta Kappa members living in the Greater Houston area to an organizational meeting held at Rice University.  Approximately 50 enthusiastic attendees expressed strong interest in organizing and elected Jenard M. Gross to serve as the group’s first president.  Although the Association was not officially chartered until 1977, meetings began in 1972, and a scholarship program to award academic, merit-based college scholarships was initiated soon afterward.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 and ranks among the most recognized academic honor societies in the United States, celebrating excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.

Catholic.  Basilian.  Teaching Goodness, Discipline and Knowledge since 1900.