More than 40% of the current St. Thomas enrollment has maintained a minimum 3.5 grade point average, with 153 champion scholars rising to St. Thomas Club distinction which requires at least a 4.0 GPA.

The 286 recognized students represent the largest-ever percentage of Eagles to earn such collective acclaim in the school’s esteemed 118-year history.

This latest metric of academic excellence verifies St. Thomas among a select group of college preparatory institutions with a strong commitment to innovative teaching and personal attention, giving students the opportunity to partner favorably with faculty mentors.

Principal Aaron Dominguez ‘96 believes the spiking trends are an acknowledgment of the overall strength of the St. Thomas academic experience and the emphasis placed on successful student outcomes.

“The caliber of student entering St. Thomas is obviously high. The academic rigor here is intense. This underscores the depth of our of care and commitment, from our faculty to our Learning Commons and Learning Enrichment Center, from counseling to our dean of students department, comprehensive resources that drive our students to achieve their potential,” Dominguez said.

During the past decade, St. Thomas remains on a significant upward trajectory, attracting high-achieving students who think critically and consistently earn prestigious national scholarships and awards.

  • Four National Merit semifinalists among 18 recognized champion scholars from the 2017-2018 academic year
  • 56% of the class of 2017 applied to Texas A&M University with 76% of those scholars accepted (74 of 97)
  • 43% of the class of 2017 applied to the University of Texas – Austin with 70% of those scholars accepted (53 of 76)
  • 30% of the class of 2017 chose out of state universities, including Washington and Lee University, the University of Southern California, Cornell University, Georgetown University, Fordham University, the University of North Carolina, George Washington University and Tulane University 
  • 16 Advanced Placement courses offered, with 86% of students from 2016-17 scoring 3 or higher

This continued academic excellence validates the unwavering St. Thomas focus on educating the complete student and involving each in scholarly pursuits.

“That’s the St. Thomas mission,” Dominguez said. “It’s incredibly rewarding to prepare our students for the colleges of their choice and realizing their life-long dreams. It’s our obligation, our passion, our goal to provide a supportive, safe environment for our students to thrive.”

St. Thomas also has undertaken a major development initiative that will dramatically enhance its facilities and campus landscape.

The Joplin Campus expansion, funded by the ambitious 4500Forever and 4500Forever Finish Strong capital campaigns, will create new learning environments highlighted by a state of the art STEM technology wing plus renovations to athletic facilities and student activity areas.

Class of 2018 Members of the St. Thomas Club
Henry Adair  Nathaniel Belcher  Brooks Brickley
Nicolas Brito  Kristopher Brolan  Juan Castillo
Peter Chauvel  Michael Colucci  Kenneth Dang
Samuel Donoho  Philip Everist  Tristan Fauntleroy
George Fisher  Daniel Garcia  Joshua Gensheimer
Andreas Giannitsopoulos  Cooper Gottschalk  John Green
Barrett Gregory  Zachary Hamm  Jackson Hanna
Samuel Hebert  Michael Hessel  John Horner
Mario Juguilon  Noah Kotlarek  Alexander Lee
Andrew Leyendecker  Joseph Little  Grant Lurix
Philip Matulia  Gabriel Meriano  Christopher Miller
Michael Patton  Joshua Prusak  Adam Rinaldi
Gabriel Rios  Parker Rzasnicki  Christopher Schlak
Chase Shanley  Trevor Sides  Mathew Soto
William Swan  Alexander Whiteley

Class of 2019 Members of the St. Thomas Club
Armando Amador  Ben Bludau  Jarrod Brown
Joseph Chavez  Harrison Fason  Robert Grove
Hunter Henderson  Benjamin Huggins  Jacob Lara
Gabriel Lenz  Joshua Madden  Theodore Mai
Connor McGovern  Kellin McGowan  Brendan Murray
Francisco Narro  Matthew O’Connor  Clement Ong
Plato Pappas  Je Yoon Park  Andrew Phan
Carson Rau  Tuscan Savarino  Thomas Snow
Angel Sosa-Yanez  Samuel Stroh  Juan Vazquez
Maxwell Voltz

Class of 2020 Members of the St. Thomas Club
Martin Beirne  Alec Burbridge  Nicholas Chandler
Carlos Copello  Grayson Drinkard  Adam Dunn
Christopher Ezeude  John Gardner  Daniel Jones
Zachary Kroencke  Jonathan Lay  Nathan Lee
Grant McCoy  Ryan Mercado  Thomas Minton
Ryan Moore  Jordan Navarijo  Jean-Paul Nguyen
Kien Phan  Nicolas Prodoehl  Andrew Rentz
Mason Ritchie  Kyle Rzasnicki  Anthony Schlak
Edward Sprigg  David Steffes  William Sterner
Joseph Swan  Cooper Thomas  Michael Tran
George Varcados  Charles White  Maxwell Zaebst

Class of 2021 Members of the St. Thomas Club
Evan Benavides  Augustus Boettcher  Brady Bourgoyne
Zachary Bryant  Max Chung  Arthur Clarke
Travis Cummins  Robert Diamond  William Dundee
William Edmundson  Tanner Erb  Adam Gensheimer
Christopher Guzman  Jacob Hulvey  Carlos Kaehler
Aidan Kelley  Samik Khosla  Alexander Kinsel
Erich Krueger  Sebastian Lanz  Vincent Lee
Francisco Llamosa  Raphael Mamaradlo  Luke McLane
Dylan Michaels  Noah Mims  Leonardo Morales
Benito Moreno-Garza  Joseph Mundell  Thomas Murray
Roman Ochoa  Jhosua Pasuquin  Patrick Pham
George Rentz  Michael Requenes  Luis Reyes
Micah Reyes  John Rizzo  Christian Rumohr
Aaron Schlosser  Chris Tan  Drew Tolson
Thomas Valdes  Zachary Voltz  Creighton Ward
Jonah Webster  Zachary Wilson  Bishop Yokubaitis

Class of 2018 Members of the St. Thomas Honor Roll
Jason Barroso  Patrick Bartlett  Henry Batt
Jack Brogan  Charles Colley  Sebastian Estremadoyro
John Evans  Joshua Falcone  Clark Flowers
Diego Garcia  Faraon Gonzales  John Griffin
Zachary Hablinski  Joshua Hanks  Andrew Hernandez
Andrew Herrera  Sebastian Housh  Jonathan Kerr
Creigh Klenke  Soren Knudsen  Joshua Longoria
Shawn Martinez  Owen Meaney  Jose Mendez
Daniel Moreno  Kyle Paige  Alexander Pollock
Haden Ritchie  Matthew Rodriguez  Cole Ross
Mason Ruch  Rene Sanchez  Andrew Schlosser
Sean Sisolak  Jacob Stevens  Daniel Vannoy
Everett Vaughn  Michael Vogelsang  Ryan Wagner
David Weber  Wallace Woodlief

Class of 2019 Members of the St. Thomas Honor Roll
Tucker Alch  Cristian Capasso  Cole Carrabba
Colton Christ  Jackson Crawford  Seth Deitz
Johnathan Evans  Rory Gonzalez  David Gordon
Daniel Griggs  Jack Hatcher  Alexander Jacobs
Bryan Jasper  Jeev Lamba  Seth Macias
Mason Maida  Tyler McStravick  Cameron Mills
David Nemec  Donovan O’Hare  Nico Pivnik
Nelson Suarez  John Teague  Camden Thomas
Daniel Tran  Kenneth VanDoren  Ian Wheeler

Class of 2020 Members of the St. Thomas Honor Roll
Lake Anderson  Ethan Armenta  Thomas Ballard
Luke Bennett  Charles Boutte  Aidan Brelinsky
Shane Brelinsky  Daniel Coco  Javier De Leon
Kyle Dietert  Travis Enochs  Travis Froboese
Carson Hechler  Harrison Held  Jose Hernandez
Zachary Hernandez  Spencer Kryger  Nicholas Kurzy
Paul Langemeier  Adrian Marquez Avila  Ismael Melendez
Matthew Onufrow  Luke Pane  Matthew Payne
James Peoples  Jackson Phillips  Hamilton Pierce
Joseph Powell  Alessandro Rivero  David Rodriguez
Miguel Sanchez  Dylan Shirley  Sterling Smith
Taylen Washington  Beamon Welch  Kamal Zeidan

Class of 2021 Members of the St. Thomas Honor Roll
Vinicius Braga  Nicky Calzolari  Jack Carter
Jackson Cooper  Peter Corbett  Xander De Anda
Adam Desroches  Diego Garcia  James Gibson
Eduardo Gonzales  Griffin Gregory  Anthony Herger
Nickolas Kanakidis  Matthew Lim  Andrew Love
Cameron McCurry  Julian Melchor  Phillip Patch
Finnley Polidore  Nicholas Prioli  Clark Somma
John Sudkamp  Pablo Tager Ballesca  Dean Thomas
Marshall Turbes  Nathan Vu  Haotong Wang
Patrick Welch  Leo Wilson

Catholic. Basilian. Teaching Goodness, Discipline and Knowledge since 1900.