Athletics        Athletics Calendar        Athletics Forms        Legacy Sports Network

EAGLE FIGHT NEVER DIES!

Athletics at St. Thomas High school has a tradition of excellence, which strives to succeed on the field of competition and in the development of student character and faith.

For generations the mission of Eagle Athletics is for our student-athletes to learn the valuable lessons of dedication, loyalty and discipline yielding much more than just performance outcomes in their sport, but to compete and grow through life-building skills including teamwork, camaraderie, discipline, respect and diligence.

St. Thomas offers 12 sports with multiple team levels while competing in the Texas Association of Private and Parochial School (TAPPS), capturing 18 state championships since 2012 including the 2016 track and field crown for the milestone 100th state title in school’s rich and storied history.

Soccer

Dates and Times Subject to Change

DATE DAY VARSITY JUNIOR VARSITY
SCRIMMAGES
Oct. 22 Tues Lutheran South (A) 7:00 Lutheran South (A) 5:00
Oct. 29 Tues HCYA (H) 7:00
Oct. 31 Thurs British School (H) 7:00 Lutheran North (H) 5:00
REGULAR SEASON
Nov. 5 Tues St. Thomas Episcopal (H) 7:00
Nov. 7 Thurs Awty International (A) 7:00 Awty International (A) 5:00
Nov. 12 Tues John Cooper (A) 7:00 John Cooper (A) 5:00
Nov. 14 Thurs St. John’s (A) 6:00 St. John’s (A) 4:30
Nov. 19 Tues British School (A) 6:30
Nov. 22 Fri St. Johns Tournament (A)
Nov. 23 Sat St. Johns Tournament (A)
Dec. 3 Tues Lutheran South (H) 5:00
Dec. 4 Wed HCYA (H) 6:30
Dec. 5 Thurs Houston High School Showcase (H) Lutheran North (A) 5:00
Dec. 6 Fri Houston High School Showcase (H)
Dec. 7 Sat Houston High School Showcase (H)
Dec. 10 Tues St. John XXIII (H) 7:00 St. John XXIII (H) 5:00
Dec. 13 Fri Beaumont Kelly (A) 7:00 Beaumont Kelly (A) 5:00
Dec. 14 Sat Alumni Game (H) 3:00
Dec. 19 Thurs YES Prep (H) 6:00
Dec. 28 Sat Barbers Hill (A) 2:00
Dec. 30 Mon Sharpstown (H) 2:00 Sharpstown (H) 12:00
Jan. 2 Thurs JU Showcase (Jacksonville, FL)
Jan. 3 Fri JU Showcase (Jacksonville, FL) STH Invitational (H)
Jan. 4 Sat JU Showcase (Jacksonville, FL) STH Invitational (H)
Jan. 10 Fri Concordia Lutheran (A) 7:00 Concordia Lutheran (A) 5:00
Jan. 14 Tues Village School (H) 7:00 Village School (H) 5:00
Jan. 17 Fri St. Pius X (A) 7:00 St. Pius X (A) 5:00
Jan. 21 Tues St. John XXIII (A) 7:00 Lutheran South (A) 5:00
Jan. 24 Fri Beaumont Kelly (H) 7:00 Beaumont Kelly (H) 5:00
Jan. 28 Tues Concordia Lutheran (H) 7:00 Condordia Lutheran (H) 5:00
Jan. 31 Fri Village School (A) 7:00 Village School (A) 5:00
Feb. 4 Tues St. Pius X (H) 7:00 # St. Pius X (H) 5:00
POST SEASON
Feb. 5 Wed District 3-6A Certification (H) Home
Feb. 11 Tues TAPPS Area Soccer Playoff (TBD) (A) Away
Feb. 15 Sat TAPPS Regional Playoff (TBD)
Feb. 18 Tues TAPPS State Semi-Final (TBD) TAPPS 4-6A District Match
Feb. 22 Sat. TAPPS State Championship (TBD) # Senior Night
Winter Sports Banquet 6:30
View on the Calendar

HEAD COACH: Kenny Martin ’01
ASSOC. HEAD COACH: James Moore ’99
ASST. COACHES: Johnny Usen, Matthew Leal ’17

NO. NAME POS. GRADE
0 ROBERT VARA KEEPER 12
1 ALEX LANZ KEEPER 11
2 SAM GENTLE MIDFIELD 12
3 ISMAEL MELENDEZ DEFENSE 12
4 RYAN MERCADO DEFENSE 12
5 CADE DELAGARZA MID/DEF 11
6 JAMIL QASEM MID/DEF 11
7 NICO LOPEZ MID/GK 10
8 SANTIAGO LABARTHE MID/FWD 10
9 RUBEN VARA MIDFIELD 10
10 NICO PRIOLI MIDFIELD 11
11 ALESSANDRO RIVERO FWD/MID 12
12 COLIN TABRIZI MIDFIELD 12
13 DAVID STEFFES MID/DEF 12
14 MATIAS RAMIREZ DEFENSE 11
15 ANTHONY SCHLAK DEFENSE 12
16 JAMES STEFFES MID/DEF 9
17 PAUL LANGEMEIER MID/DEF 12
18 PABLO TAGER MID/FWD 11
19 JOEL ARREDONDO DEFENSE 12
20 ANDRE MEZA DEFENSE 10
21 CARLOS COPELLO DEFENSE 12
23 GRAYSON DRINKARD DEFENSE 12
ALESSIO DELCASTILLO VIDEO 10

HEAD COACH: Kenny Martin ’01
ASSOC. HEAD COACH: James Moore ’99
ASST. COACHES: Johnny Usen, Matthew Leal ’17

JERSEY # NAME POSITION GRADE
0 DAVID ADAIR KEEPER 11
1 NICHOLAS GENTILE KEEPER 10
2 ARTHUR CLARKE 11
3 SAMUEL TELLEZ 9
5 JACK WEAVER 9
6 TREY SCHAIDER 9
7 EMON MALEK 9
8 JAMES STEFFES 9
10 BEN GARCIA FORWARD 10
11 EVAN CROSSWAIT 10
12 GARNER KELLING 9
13 THOMAS PHAM 9
14 RYAN NGUYEN 9
15 BLAKE KELLER 9
16 GRANT ARNOLD 10
17 BRUNO CASTILLA 10
18 CALEB MCCLURE 9
22 ROBERT LONGO 10
9 JACKSON GUYRE 9
23 JACK BRENDGORD 11
NICK KANAKIDIS 11
ANDREW CANTONI 10
24 HASSAN ALI 9

HEAD COACH: Kenny Martin ’01
ASSOC. HEAD COACH: James Moore ’99
ASST. COACHES: Johnny Usen, Matthew Leal ’17 & Cody Moles

Kenny Martin ’01
Head Coach
kenny.martin@sths.org

James Moore ’99
Assistant Coach

Johnny Usen
Assistant Coach

Matthew Leal ’17
Assistant Coach

Directions to All Games
0
Consecutive TAPPS All-Sports Awards earned through on-field performance
0
Eagles continuing their athletic careers in college since 2012
0%
Students participating as athletes, managers, videographers or trainers
0
State titles in various sports won by STH in 117 years
BOOSTER CLUB
ATHLETICS FORMS
HALL OF FAME